Osprey Learning Trust,Exeter Road,
Teignmouth, TQ14 9HZ, TEL: 01626 870317

Trustees’ Information

To contact our Trustees please email the Trust Governance Officer at gaby.willis@ospreylearningtrust.co.uk


Tony Smith

Chair of Trust Board

Member appointed 15 December 2020

Tony has enjoyed a long career in state education, which began as a teacher of Geography.  He and his family have lived in Teignmouth for over twenty-five years during which time he was an education officer in Devon for 14 years, and Director of Education for over 5 years.  Tony brings extensive knowledge and experience of Multi-Academy Trusts to the Board, having been involved with academies since their inception in areas such as training programmes for Chairs and Trustees; performance reviews of Chief Executives; reviewing progress of and assisting and advising on growth of various MATs.  In addition, Tony served for five years as Chair of the Diocese of Salisbury Multi-Academy Trust.

Tony looks forward to working with the schools in the Osprey Learning Trust and ensuring the pupils in those schools receive the best education and opportunities possible.


Paul Lilley

Vice Chair of Trust Board,
Chair of Finance, Audit and Risk Committee

Member appointed on 10 December 2019

Paul is currently a director of his own company, Lucwin Limited, which provides advice and financially solutions to SMEs.  He is also a director of Friends Helping at Home, a care business providing support to people in their own homes.  Paul spent the majority of his career, 34 years, with HSBC, as a senior manager, both in the UK and overseas. His last post was based in Cardiff looking after the business in Wales, over 100 branches and 1500 people.  Paul has been actively involved with the Chamber of Commerce, being president at Frome and a founding director of the Wessex Association of Chambers of Commerce.  He also helped to establish a new Young Enterprise board for West Wiltshire, helping 15 to 16 year olds set up and run their own limited companies.  He has been a parent school governor and most recently a governor at Torbay and South Devon Health care Trust.  He is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Bankers.  He is married with two grown up daughters.  He enjoys travelling to exotic and unusual locations in the world and loves to keep fit and Spin is his passion.


Katy Quinn

Chief Executive Officer

Member appointed under article 57 on 06 October 2016

Katy is the CEO of our Trust and until September 2021 was the Principal of Teignmouth Community School, Mill Lane.  Prior to her appointment as a Director in October 2016, Katy also served as Company Secretary to the Trust and was part of the team who effected the academisation of the then Teignmouth Community College and Inverteign Primary School in March 2011.  Katy has been a longstanding member of the TCS leadership team having previously held the position of Assistant Principal at Teignmouth Community School, Exeter Road.

Contact email address: katy.quinn@ospreylearningtrust.co.uk


Jackie Jackson

Chair of Vulnerable Children Committee
Safeguarding and SEND

Member appointed 15 December 2020

Jackie spent her working life in Education, teaching from 1971, in primary schools in Sussex and, since 1989, in Devon. Jackie held teaching posts in many primary schools, culminating in two headships, firstly in a village school, and then in a large city school.

Since retiring in 2014, Jackie has been childminding her grandchildren for two days a week.  She is an active member of the local community, running a community larder in Teignmouth which she established in March 2020 in response to the need during the Covid-19 pandemic.


Pat Henchie

Foundation Trustee
Vulnerable Children Committee
Policy Review Group

Member appointed on 13 June 2019 (29 March 2012)

Pat has retired from a career in Primary education starting in two London education authorities and Richmond -Upon-Thames. For the final 20 years, she was headteacher of a small primary school that served a neglected social priority estate surrounded by wealth. This developed her skills and determination that every child will have encouragement to fulfil their potential through excellence in teaching.

She has become a school leadership consultant working with schools requiring improvement.


Sam Trevorrow


Member appointed 21 November 2019

Sam graduated from the University of Exeter in 2016 with a degree in Law and worked within the legal profession until September 2019 before returning to university to complete a Master’s degree in Law, Business and Management.

Sam is currently a trainee solicitor for a national law firm and has experience of advising schools and academies on the corporate aspects of academy conversions and transfers.

Sam enjoys playing racket sports (mainly squash and tennis) and watching both football and rugby.


Katie York

Chair of Performance Committee
Policy Review Group

Director appointed on 14 July 2020

Katie taught in Scottish secondary schools for six years and then moved to London in 1987 where she taught in a range of schools to include two Academies. She held several promoted posts starting from Deputy Head of Science and working her way up to Head of Science, Deputy Principal and Vice Principal. Katie also completed a one-year teacher exchange to Queensland in Australia and is also trained as an Ofsted Inspector.


Steve Jackson

Finance, Audit and Risk Committee

Trustee appointed 25 May 2021

Steve is currently Commercial Director for the regional civil engineering business of a large national contractor.  He is primarily responsible for commercial performance, risk management, supply chain, governance and strategy.  Prior to this, Steve was a senior manager for a large defence contractor based in Plymouth, maintaining and decommissioning  the UK’s nuclear submarine fleet.

Steve has an MBA from Warwick Business School and a Honours degree in Business.  He is a fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors.




Trustee appointed 20 July 2021

Babette worked in the NHS for over 30 years, qualifying as a Registered General Nurse at Walsgrave Hospital, Coventry.  In 1997 she moved to Musgrove  Hospital, Taunton and became their Lead Cancer Nurse and in 2002 she was seconded (on a part-time basis) to work on the proposed new cancer centre, as the project’s clinical lead. The Beacon Centre was finally opened in 2009 and Babette became the overall manager of the £22million development. Over the following several years the centre was recognised as a centre of excellence gaining many awards and accreditations.

In 2016  Babette was invited to also take over management of the hospital’s support services, including Radiology, Pathology, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy and Occupational Therapy.

Babette retired in 2017 and became a volunteer advisor with Citizens Advice.